A Fraction of God’s Whole

               The reason I’m not getting anywhere is because I have lived life through my dreams. I have not lived them through the Lord’s. I think I’ll be satisfied with life when I become a servant of His passions and not my own. God has gifted me in so many capacities, and I have never understood why. Now I understand. If I create for Him, I will be who I am supposed to be. I will have found my purpose.

                My music? It’s His. My voice? It’s His. My trumpet? It’s His. My writing? It’s His. He named me a creator and gave me a fraction of Himself to multiply into the earth.

                As creators, we have a responsibility to display God’s beauty. Our artwork is a mere hint of what—no Who—is to come. As long as I create with God as the foundation, the possibilities are endless. Can I write about justice? Yes. God said in Isaiah to “correct oppression”. I will do nothing wrong as long as I do it with God in mind.

                I am not a slave to the patterns of this world. I am no longer a slave to self-dissatisfaction.

                I am a slave of Christ.

                He is the wellspring of wisdom. How lucky I am to have His imprint and love print as the foundation of my work! My art will be the best it has ever been, I believe. Why is this so? Well, I have the source of creativity in my heart. I won’t be the sole source of it. I am imperfect and temporary. God can give me the wisdom and guidance to correct the works He initially birthed within.

                My words are not my own.

                Let them be forever known.

Leave a Reply

