To Be Free And To Be Alive

I don’t know about you, but I am just so tired.

Not just physically tired. I’m emotionally tired. Mentally tired. Spiritually tired.

I am tired of fighting. Tired of anxiety. Tired of guilt. Tired of strained emotions. I am tired of trying to figure out my life. I am tired of failing, falling, and rising back up again. I am tired of being tired.

I just want to be free and to be alive.

But how can I be those things when I keep letting stupid choices and situations take God’s place? Do I really need to watch hours of shows on Netflix? Do I really need to stay up all night reading fictional stories?

You know what I have discovered?

The emotions, romantic scenes, and conflict tug on the very heart–the very substance that pumps life into a being. How can I be stable if I let such things determine my mood? My life?

Like chips. It’s all just empty calories. Sure! It makes you feel great in that instant, but then it reminds you of similar emotions from the past. It takes you back to a place where you used to live but have already moved away from.

No. Fictional stories aren’t bad. They just need to be regarded as something to be devoured in moderation. Balance is everything.

But soon, if we’re not careful, such fictional consumption becomes idolatry. We let those things give us more hope than the Creator of the Universe.

That’s just not okay.

If we really want to be free and to be alive, we must strive for the source of said freedom and said life.

Romans 6:1-11

What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase? By no means! We are those who have died to sin; how can we live in it any longer? Or don’t you know that all of us who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death?We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life.

For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we will certainly also be united with him in a resurrection like his. For we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body ruled by sin might be done away with,[a] that we should no longer be slaves to sin— because anyone who has died has been set free from sin.

Now if we died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him. For we know that since Christ was raised from the dead, he cannot die again; death no longer has mastery over him. 10 The death he died, he died to sin once for all; but the life he lives, he lives to God.

11 In the same way, count yourselves dead to sin but alive to God in Christ Jesus.

No. I’m not trying to condemn anyone. 

I’m trying to help you.

Peace,

Amanda

Leave a Reply

