Rise Up And Live

This is going to be a free session of heartfelt expression. I knew I just needed to go write. To share things. To explore things.

Tonight at church, a lady who periodically preaches over offering and for college worship nights began a class on what a woman’s role is in the church. The subject (of course) of men being superior to women came up and I thought about the two greatest commandments that Jesus gave. Here’s a recap for my, and your, refreshment:

Matthew 22:34-40

But when the Pharisees had heard that he had silenced the Sadducees, they gathered together. And one of them, a lawyer, asked him a question to test him. “Teacher, which is the great commandment in the Law?” And he said to him, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the great and first commandment. And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. On these two commandments depend all the Law and the Prophets.”

Why do you think Jesus reasoned that the law depended on that one thing–on love? And why do I think that men being superior to women is a fallacy of doctrine?

“You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

That’s. Why.

You see, we–male AND female–were made in the image of God. And if we were made in the image of God, then we were made in the image of the Trinity. And, for such a trinity to function in an orderly manner, all equal parts must consider each other, well, equally. If the Trinity operates and exists in such a way–where none is more important nor less significant than the other—and if we were made in that image, then why, oh WHY, would women truly and spiritually be inferior to men?

“You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

Did Jesus stutter? Did he say, “Only men shall love men equally, and women, who are clearly out of consideration in the importance of creation and who do not exist in my Father’s image, will not be part of this commandment.”

No. I really, highly, truly, and honestly do not think so.

Jesus healed men AND women. Jesus pardoned the sins of men AND women. Jesus told a woman who committed adultery, “Go and sin no more” (John 8). If Jesus considers the needs of women as much as the needs of men, then so does God, and the Holy Spirit–all one, all ordered.

That’s love.

Love is logical because it is the most efficient way to function. Who wants to be inferior? Surely Jesus doesn’t want anyone to. And here’s more proof for you:

John 16:33

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.

John 14:1

Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me.

Both of these statement were said by Jesus. And yes–I realize they partook in different conversations and contexts. But still, would Jesus’ love change from a man to a woman in such a regard as being courageous and not letting hearts be discouraged?

No.

Romans 2:11

For God shows no partiality.

Ok. I’m done arguing and ranting. I just want truth to shine through this skewed and messed-up world, where sex and over-indulgence are the abundance of “life”.

If God is love, and if God never changes, then maybe it is our thinking that needs to change.

I am a woman, but I am not subservient. I am a woman, but I am not inferior. I am a woman, but I am not a slave, nor will I ever be someone’s housemaid.

I am a women, but I am God’s.

No man will ever own me or have the full right to call me completely his own. And neither can he really–I mean REALLY–own you.

Do you not know that you are the Lord’s? That he formed you in your mother’s womb, no matter what the circumstance (Psalm 139:13)?

People will try to tell you who you are. But that’s not their job. That job is the Lord’s, and such was finished 2,000 years ago and, before then, prior to the foundation of the world.

You, oh beautiful woman, were always part of the plan. The Great and Perfect plan.

Being subservient to an imperfect being?

Ha.

No.

Subservience was never part of the plan.

Just like the paralytic, I want you to be brave, take up whatever is important to you, and walk.

Just go.

Be who you are in Christ, and not in some man who is not the originator of your purpose.

Rise up and live.

One thought on “Rise Up And Live

Leave a Reply

