I’m Not Gandhi, Jesus, or Luke Skywalker.

Why am I wanting to write some significant post that will change the world or that will persuade others to like me? I’m not Gandhi, Jesus, or Luke Skywalker.

I’m just Amanda. And maybe that means enough.

God created exactly who He wanted to create when He formed me. Should I allow myself to be molded by the possible pleasing of man? That’s really a deformation of self.

Allowing the judgments of broken people to determine your emotional health will only break you, too. A fractured foundation cannot sustain something meant to be indestructible.

We are meant to be strong in Christ. Victors in Christ. The ones who reign with Him and spread His influence of love and healing to the world.

How are we supposed to do that if our strength is determined by those who are also imperfect?

What you think about me has no power over me. Your thoughts are temporary. They will fade away into natural oblivion and never be remembered.

Do you know how many people have lived, even within the past one hundred years? Do you know their thoughts, their names, their accomplishments?

Neither do I.

So just stop it.

Stop being bigger than you actually are.

Humanity exists on a small orb suspended in time and space and eternity.

We. Are. So. Small.

But that holds nothing against our worth, value, and purpose in Christ.

That’s right. We are in Christ. We don’t exist within man’s opinions, within our own opinions, or solely within what deep thinkers and philosophers have to say or have said.

Man’s knowledge is still being perfected. God’s knowledge is what founded our existence. The Universe. All of time and space and eternity.

And we let man’s knowledge define us?

I don’t know about you, but I am just tired of it. Holding the knowledge of men to that of God is akin to placing a piece of sand by a mountain.

It looks ridiculous, but it’s also reassuring.

All we need is God. His truth is enough.

I don’t need you to tell me who I am. Tell me who God says I am.

And I’ll do the same for you.

I’m not Gandhi, Jesus, or Luke Skywalker.

I’m just Amanda. And maybe that means enough.

One thought on “I’m Not Gandhi, Jesus, or Luke Skywalker.

  1. The thing to remember is we are made in the image of God. 🙂 That is something! When the imperfect world is trying to convince us we do not measure up, we can rest in the knowledge and assurances we are a Child of God. That is an identity no one can take from us.

Leave a Reply

