My Life Feels Heavy, Today

Today, I feel this intangible weight of sadness and inadequacy. Often, the simplest of tasks easily stress me out. It gets old after a while. It just gets old.

I was created to be free like the wind which passes through hair strands. I was created to dream like Disney princesses and to sing at the top of my lungs. I was created for adventures beyond my wildest imagination.

But on days like this, I don’t feel free. On days where depression and sadness seem to linger, I feel like a very internal object. One which knows of its own substance yet cannot fully operate in that truth.

On these days, I must remind myself–I am not my circumstances. I am not my emotions. I am not my weaknesses. I am that of I Am.

I am an eternal being of life who was made to spread the love of God, in worship, to the ends of the earth.

So I’m sad, today. I’ll live.

Jesus is alive.

My life feels heavy today, but in His presence can I surely rest.

28 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

Matthew 11:28 – 30

Leave a Reply

