I want to KNOW God

I want to know God as being real. I know He is, but I want to be saturated and absorbed into such a reality as that. I receive His blessings, am given His love and encouragement through others, and gain insight and wisdom through different books, but I thirst to know God as God. Not God as my paycheck or subway gift card in the mail, not God as my friend Wendy who gives me great advice and consolation, and not God as the backspace button which fixes all my problems.

I want to KNOW God.

In His entirety, He is a complexity which we cannot fully fathom. In His purpose, He is our best friend.

Getting to know another human is sort of like getting to know God. You cannot expect to have one conversation and then BOOM, you know everything there is to know about Him.

The difference with God is this:

The process it takes to know God is also the process required to know ourselves. The seed we plant into relationship with God grows for a triple-benefit. We end up knowing God, God gets to experience knowing us (even though He already does), and we end up discovering who we truly are. 

Do you want to know your purpose? Know God. Do you want to know how much He loves you? Know God.

“The reverent and worshipful fear of the Lord is the beginning (the chief and choice part) of Wisdom, and the knowledge of the Holy One is insight and understanding” (Proverbs 5:10, AMP).

There really is nothing to know if we do not know God. He originated existence, so to understand how to best exist, it stands to reason that knowing God is the most efficient way to achieve this.

Not only that, but we were built for relationship with God. He made us for His pleasure. 

He delights in you. Isn’t that delightful? 🙂

I know I am sort of rambling, but I also know that getting to know God is what will be the best pursuit of my life.

And I hope you’ll join me.

Let’s get to know God, which in turn will lead to knowing ourselves, for He made us, and all things made by God are good when behaving according to His nature.

Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

