I don’t want to know where I’ll be tomorrow.

My life is definitely not shaped how I thought it would be from one year ago, but I think it is one of the best things that could have happened.

I graduated college in May of 2014 with a degree in Jazz Music. Sounds pretty straightforward, but for me? Not so much. I have always been a dreamer and I always get agitated when I feel confined to just one thing.

Yes. I really like jazz, but I also like worship music and languages and writing and thinking about space and going on adventures and mountain biking and running and…and…BOOM!

Sometimes it’s like being a monkey, holding three sticks, and trying to balance spinning plates while also figuring out who and what I would like to be.

But I’m getting to a point where I am not interested in having it all figured out. Did Mary know she was going to be the birthing vessel of mankind’s deliverer? Did Isaac Newton or Einstein know that their scientific discoveries would be passed down in schools and in practice for years after their respective existences? Did Noah know in his youth that God would use him to carry on the lineage of Christ?

It’s easier to see purpose once it has already happened, but not so much when it is happening. 

Even though people knew who Jesus was when He was a youngster, I doubt it was easy to seriously consider an eight year old kid who was born in a manger to have the capacity to save the world, let alone be worthy enough to sit at the right hand of God.

But that’s just it.

Greatness doesn’t always look like greatness. It starts out with humble beginnings. A seed is planted and, in time, is nurtured and fed until the bloom of greatness is exposed.

I am also learning something, too. The longer you are planted and committed in an area, the more God promotes you and establishes your gifts and talents. It’s not like Jack’s magic beans, planted one night and reaching to the heavens the next. It’s like a tree. It develops, extends more branches, has seasons where old things fall off like leaves so that new and better things can begin.

I don’t want to know where I’ll be tomorrow. I don’t want to attempt to have my entire life figured out, as I have attempted in the past.

I want to let God make it beautiful. I want it to be a fantastic adventure that will never cease. I want to meet hundreds and thousands of wonderful people who have dreams, too, and I want to see their dreams fulfilled.

My dream, I guess, is to never stop dreaming, to always find fascination in the smallest of things, to never lose my heart for adventure, to always make strides at changing the world, to write songs that move the very hearts of people, and to make an impression on mankind that is felt and causes change in future generations.

Sure. My dreams are big and maybe even delusional, but so is the thought of a God who created the Universe and sent His one and only child as a sacrifice to free my debt of sin, to heal me from all my sicknesses, and to create a bridge for open relationship.

If my God can dream that big and accomplish such a dream, then I see no reason to not accomplish what I feel is in my heart.

I don’t want to dream in such a way that contradicts what I believe, however.

But I know inside that my dreams are bold, innocent, and will bring God glory. They will heal marriages, help the lost, feed the poor, mend broken hearts, call the prodigals home, and be a lighthouse for the lost ships at sea.

I don’t want to know where I’ll be tomorrow.

I just want to know that the world will be changed. If it is not, then I will deem my life a wasted one.

Leave a Reply

