I’m living life in the alpenglow.

I’m living life in the alpenglow. That moment where the sun is setting or rising behind a mountain and the colors of orange and wonderment fill the horizon.

I am about to shine. I just know it. I feel there are new dreams stirring inside my heart and whispering to the dreamer in my soul. I’m a sustained fermata, an archer who is ready to release her shot, a David about to attack a Goliath.

Yet it could also be that a more established tempo is approaching. The ebb and flow of uncertainty and circumstances seem to twist and turn the rhythmic motion of this symphony. Perhaps I’m in a sort of developmental section. I’m experimenting with past themes and future possibilities.

But while I’m in the alpenglow, I’ll realize that it is a lovely place. I’m young. I’m free. There’s so much hope and potential to be explored and discovered. The symbol might crash on some large and beautiful chord as the sun rises into the sky. Who knows what will happen in the moments, the days, the musical themes to come?

I could be hiking a mountain in Ecuador, conducting a Wind Symphony in London, speaking to locals in Paris while typing a blog in a French coffee shop, flying on a plane and reading a book as I traverse the Atlantic Ocean, composing music for a movie, or even singing the National Anthem for the Superbowl.

Or I could be right here, right now, having an adventure with the tips of my fingers as I am at the tipping point of new things to come.

I’m living life in the alpenglow.


 

God promises me in Jeremiah 29: 10 – 14, NLT

This is what the Lord says: “You will be in Babylon for seventy years. But then I will come and do for you all the good things I have promised, and I will bring you home again. For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me. I will be found by you,” says the Lord. “I will end your captivity and restore your fortunes. I will gather you out of the nations where I sent you and will bring you home again to your own land.”

I feel like Babylon is akin to this period of being in an alpenglow. God says, “In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me. I will be found by you.” In the transition, it is essential that I keep seeking the Lord. He has promised me so many good things! He has plans for my life that are for good and not for disaster! He promises me a future and a hope! He tells me that he will end my captivity and restore my fortunes! He tells me that he will

bring me home again. 

I like that. It’s hard to always know where home is. Where the place is that we fit in, you know? Life is always changing, and I suppose we have to learn how to adapt and change with it.

But in all the change. The chaos. The alpenglow moments. We can know one thing.

God. Never. Changes. He is the Alpha and Omega. The Beginning and The End. He is the same Yesterday,

                            Today,

                                       and Forever.

So, no matter what transition you may be in, remember that God is always with you. He has a future for you. A hope. A journey worth pursuing.

“And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” — Jesus

Leave a Reply

