Getting rid of stuff.

So, today, I am inspired by my friend Erin Westermeyer to get rid of the things I don’t want and keep the things I do want.

And it’s really hard.

I am finding out a lot about myself just by what decisions I am making in regard to my “things”. Certain items trigger deep and dear emotions about specific, core times in my life.

For example, I studied jazz in college and, as much as I may want to move on from that time of life, I cannot let go of some of my jazz books. It brings honest tears to my eyes to think of letting that stuff go. I grew so much as a musician during that time. I also can’t listen to jazz without feeling something. It’s like it is a part of me and, no matter what I do in life, it will always be in my heart.

I also do not wish to get rid of “The Music Man” script from when I was in high school. I landed the female lead, Marian the Librarian, and I can honestly  say that that was probably the happiest time of my life. I was free from something that I felt was controlling me. I had a boyfriend I did not deserve. I was thin. I had the world ever before me. I was in the spotlight, singing my heart out, acting and performing. It was literally my favorite moment to be alive. It was the freest I’d ever been.

So no, I cannot get rid of my script.

And so maybe as I continue to go through things, memories, and moments, I can also choose to keep and focus on those life experiences that have made me better, that make me happy, and that make me feel alive.

That make me feel

I can move forward from the negative, shameful, sinful, dark, anxious times.

The way to move forward is to never look back.

Here are some lyrics to a song I’ve had in my heart for a while.

Verse:

I am not hindered

I am not weak

Greater is He who lives in me

 

I will stand fearless

I will stand free

Greater is He who lives in me

 

I can look forward

I can move on

Greater is He who lives in me

 

I will not falter

I shall not fail

Greatest is He who lives in me

 

Chorus:

I praise You in the chaos when my thoughts are not sound

I thank You in the terror when all darkness surrounds

My faith rises higher to the glory of Your name

Jesus, You’re standing here

I am not afraid

 

Bridge: (4x)

Demons cannot shake you

Satan cannot break you

So I’ll take the things I need and drop the things  I don’t. Jesus is with me and I will not be afraid.

Check out my friend’s blog at erinwestermeyer.com 

Leave a Reply

